### MS-24 Appendix: Inaugural Dean's Advisory Board

In order to promote and advance the mission and vision of the Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine, the Dean's Advisory Board, consisting of school of medicine alumni, former faculty members and prominent members of the Huntington community was created.

The Medical School Advisory Board is an exemplary collection of community leaders in the medical field who give the JCESOM leadership a firm connection to the needs and aspirations of the greater Huntington community and through the Board's insight, the SOM will be able to grow and thrive.

As part of the board's mission, members will work to foster and develop internal and external relationships. They will do so by assisting the school in the identification, cultivation and establishment of strategies for solicitation of private financial support of the School of Medicine. The members will also serve as ambassadors of the School of Medicine while assisting with community engagement and relationships with other medical providers and entities.

Members:

Mrs. Sharon N. Ambrose

- Nurse and retired former senior vice president and chief operating officer of St. Mary's Hospital; former president of the St. Mary's foundation

# Dr. Joseph P. Assaley

– SOM Class of 1988, private practice Ob/Gyn, former SOM Alumni Association President and current board member

# Dr. Shari J. Clarke

- Marshall University VP of Multicultural Affairs

# Mrs. Monica J.W. Hatfield

 MU graduate and attended SOM before opting for a career as a math teacher; previous chair and board member of the MU Foundation, Inc.; married to Dr. Mark Hatfield, SOM Class of 1983

### Dr. Maurice A. Mufson

Professor emeritus and first chair of the SOM's Internal Medicine Department;
Specialty Infectious Diseases

### Dr. Dev R. Rellan

– Internal Medicine physician with a subspecialty in nephrology with Huntington Internal Medicine Group the largest privately owned regional medical center in the State

#### Mr. Steven L. Shattls

– MPA Hospital and Health Care Administration, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer for Valley Health Systems, Inc. Valley Health provides primary and preventative care to southern, West Virginia and southeastern, Ohio in 28 locations across the region

## Dr. Mark F. Sheridan

– SOM Class of 1987, private practice ENT, former SOM Alumni Association president and current board member

## Dr. Omayma T. Touma

- Retired pediatrician and past director of the Cabell County Health Department; married to Dr. Joseph Touma, chairman of MU Board of Governors

# Dr. Charles E. Turner

– Internal Medicine physician with a subspecialty certification in Gastroenterology and founding member of the Huntington Internal Medicine Group, the largest private multispecialty group in the area

## Mrs. Joan M. Weisberg

– Business woman and officer of record for the Arthur and Joan Weisberg Family Foundation Inc.; her late husband, Art, founded State Electric Supply Co.; electrical distributors with over 700 employees at 40 branch locations in six states

# Ms. Tamela J. White

– Former nurse and hospital administrator; holds a Masters of Public Health from Johns Hopkins University; member and a founding attorney of Farrell, White & Legg which was formed in 1995; premier trial lawyer

**Ex-Officio Members:** 

Dr. Joseph I. Shapiro - Dean, School of Medicine

Dr. Paulette S. Wehner - President, SOM Alumni Association

Ms. Linda S. Holmes - Director, Development & Alumni Affairs